October 20, 2009
Shout! Factory
Rhythm & Blues, Southern Soul, Deep Soul, Soul, Memphis Soul

Album Review

Otis Redding's recording career was tragically and woefully brief and while he recorded enough classic gems to assure his place as one of the finest soul singers to ever meet a microphone, he was really just starting to match his immense talent to suitable material when he died in 1967. His legacy is solid and deserved, but one wonders what would have come next had he lived. Wishes aren't horses, though, and we're left with a body of work that's solid but feels somehow incomplete. This CD/DVD combo set makes for a quick portrait of Redding, and features the studio recordings of classics "Respect," "Try a Little Tenderness," "Pain in My Heart," and "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay," as well as the heartbreaking Redding original "I've Got Dreams to Remember," all of which are darn near perfect examples of deep soul. The DVD catches Redding on the 1967 Stax/Volt tour (along with performances by Booker T. & the MG's and Sam & Dave) shortly before his death. It's a visual reminder of what we had and what we've lost.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay
  2. Try a Little Tenderness
  3. Respect
  4. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  5. Satisfaction
  6. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
  7. Trap
  8. Mr. Pitiful
  9. Pain in My Heart
  10. That's How Strong My Love Is
  11. The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)
  12. I've Got Dreams to Remember
  13. Shake [DVD]
  14. My Girl [DVD]
  15. Green Onions [DVD]
  16. When Something Is Wrong with My Baby [DVD]
  17. Hold On! I'm a Comin' [DVD]
  18. Satisfaction [DVD]
  19. Try a Little Tenderness [DVD]
  20. Shake [DVD][Live]
  21. Respect [DVD][Live]
  22. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) [DVD][Live]
  23. Satisfaction [DVD][Live]
  24. Try a Little Tenderness [DVD][Live]