Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Cast Recordings

Album Review

Dennis DeYoung always sang as if he was on Broadway, so it only made sense that he eventually turned to show tunes in the mid-'90s with 10 on Broadway. This isn't a record that will satisfy many Broadway purists, but DeYoung hardly embarrasses himself with his versions of "Someone to Watch Over Me," "Summertime," "On the Street Where You Live," and "Memory," among other familiar tunes. It's not a particularly adventurous collection, either in terms of selection or performance, but it's pretty good for what it is. It's hard to imagine who will want to hear this outside of DeYoung fanatics -- Styx fans will complain it doesn't rock, show tune snobs will prefer Mandy Patinkin -- but it's still not bad.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Someone to Watch over Me
  2. On the Street Where You Live
  3. Someone Else's Story
  4. Once upon a Dream
  5. Where I Want to Be
  6. Summertime
  7. Pilate's Dream
  8. Memory
  9. Bring Him Home
  10. It's in Everyone of Us

Similar Albums