July 12, 1994
Sub Pop
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Indie Rock

Album Review

Jale's debut album is equal parts power pop and post-grunge -- there's plenty of crunch and jangle on all 12 songs. You can hear the band evolving here -- their sound is perfected on their Closed EP and their next (and last) album, So Wound. Splinters of that album can be heard on the janglier tracks here, like "Again," "Nebulous," "Mend," and "Promise." Jennifer Pierce has a soft, innocent voice that blends well with Laura Stein's raspy, somewhat subdued vocals, and the band's underproduced sound adds to the charm.
Gina Boldman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Not Happy
  2. Nebulous
  3. 3 Days
  4. To Be Your Friend
  5. Again
  6. River
  7. I'm Sorry
  8. Mend
  9. The Unseen Guest
  10. Love Letter
  11. Emma
  12. Promise [Jimmybeane Majestic Version]
purchase full album