October 11, 2011
Thirty Tigers
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Jam Bands

Album Review

So enamored with the ‘70s he’s decided to revive the decade all on his own, Black Crowes guitarist Rich Robinson can certainly create a vibe by stitching together remnants of the past. Equal parts Santana, Stones, Allmans, and acoustic Zeppelin, Through a Crooked Sun meanders amiably even if the music is largely reflective, not cheerful. Like Paper, his 2004 debut, this is decidedly a players record, but where that album felt overstuffed with guitars, Through a Crooked Sun relies on textures, all unveiled at a measured, mature pace. Robinson is an affectless singer, something that undercuts the introspection of the lyrics, yet his music has color, alternating from extended interpolations of the back half of “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” to stark, ringing folk, all punctuated by Southern rockers that ramble instead of rush.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Gone Away
  2. It's Not Easy
  3. Lost and Found
  4. I Don't Hear the Sound of You
  5. Hey Fear
  6. All Along the Way
  7. Follow You Forever
  8. Standing on the Surface of the Sun
  9. Bye Bye Baby
  10. Falling Again
  11. Station Man
  12. Fire Around