Pop/Rock, American Trad Rock, Roots Rock, Country-Rock, Southern Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Arena Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

It made sense that the Georgia Satellites reunited without Dan Baird, especially since Rick Richards' career as a Ju Ju Hound disappeared along with leader Izzy Stradlin. However, their comeback needn't have been as dispiriting as Shaken Not Stirred. The band can still rock out, but they lack the wild, careening energy of their late-'80s heyday. More importantly, they not only choose to re-cover their version of Joe South's "Games People Play," as well as the Beatles' "Rain" and the Faces' "My Fault," but "Battleship Chains" and "Can't Stand the Pain," songs they made popular with their debut album. It's a weird move, and it's all the more uncomfortable considering the blandness of the new, original songs. Shaken Not Stirred occasionally shows signs of life, but it should have been tougher and looser to be a truly triumphant comeback.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Anna Lee
  2. Battleship Chains
  3. Can't Stand the Pain
  4. Deep in the Heart of Dixie
  5. Don't Pass Me by
  6. Games People Play
  7. Hand to Mouth
  8. Hippy Hippy Shake
  9. Let It Rock
  10. My Fault
  11. Rain
  12. Running Out
  13. Shaken Not Stirred
  14. She Fades Away
  15. Six Years Gone
  16. Slaughterhouse