February 10, 1998
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

During lulls on the lengthy Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness tour and before the Smashing Pumpkins returned to the studio to record Adore, James Iha made his first solo album, Let It Come Down. Fortunately, it is one of the rare solo projects from a member of major band that explores territory that could not be covered by the band itself. Iha has made, in essence, a Californian soft rock album from the '70s. Let It Come Down is a gentle record, filled with lovely little songs built with hushed acoustic guitars, simple harmonies, and sunny melodies. Iha has an appealingly shy voice that's perfectly suited for these unassuming songs. And it's not just the sound of the album that's attractive; the songs themselves are sturdy and memorably melodic. Iha's handful of songwriting contributions to the Pumpkins suggested that he had talent, and he proves it here. Let It Come Down is by no means a major record, but it's a refreshing little gem that begs for a sequel.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Be Strong Now
  2. Sound of Love
  3. Beauty
  4. See the Sun
  5. Country Girl
  6. Jealousy
  7. Lover, Lover
  8. Silver String
  9. Winter
  10. One and Two
  11. No One's Gonna Hurt You