February 23, 1999
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Blues-Rock, Acid Rock, Album Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock

Album Review

A series of Jimi Hendrix performances from the Band of Gypsys concerts finally gets the deluxe treatment from MCA and Experience Hendrix, as tapes from both first and second shows are brought together, correctly identified (1986's Band of Gypsys 2 actually featured three tracks that weren't by the band at all) in one deluxe two-disc set. This newly expanded edition contains the only live versions of "Earth Blues," "Auld Lang Syne," "Stepping Stone," and "Burning Desire"; Hendrix tunes specifically worked up for the performance that rarely surfaced again like "Izabella," "Power of Soul," and "Who Knows"; newly remastered versions of "Stop" and "Hear My Train a-Comin'" (both originally presented on Band of Gypsys 2 in horrendous sound) and classic performances of "Stone Free," "Changes," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," and "Wild Thing." Equally as revelatory is one of the two alternate versions included of "Machine Gun," every bit as stunning as the better-known version. Though this new edition hardly makes all previous incarnations obsolete, it presents the man at his most challenged and brilliant.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stone Free
  2. Power of Soul
  3. Hear My Train a Comin'
  4. Izabella
  5. Machine Gun
  6. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  7. We Gotta Live Together
  8. Auld Lang Syne
  9. Who Knows
  10. Changes
  11. Machine Gun
  12. Stepping Stone
  13. Stop
  14. Earth Blues
  15. Burning Desire
  16. Wild Thing
purchase full album