RELEASE
1966
LABEL
GENRES
Pop/Rock

Album Review

The pre-psychedelic Moody Blues were represented in England by this album, which is steeped in American soul. The covers include songs by James Brown, Willie Dixon, and Chris Kenner, plus the chart-busting "Go Now" (originally recorded by Bessie Banks), interspersed with a brace of originals by lead singer/guitarist Denny Laine and keyboardist Mike Pinder, and one Jeff Barry/Ellie Greenwich number, "I've Got a Dream." The shouters, like "I'll Go Crazy" and "Bye Bye Bird," will be the big surprises, showcasing the rawest sound by the group, but "I've Got a Dream" shows a lyrical, harmony-based sound that is vaguely reminiscent of the Four Tops (which is ironic, as that group later cut a single of the latter-day Moody Blues original "So Deep Within You"), while "Thank You Baby," a Laine/Pinder original, offers them doing a smooth, dance-oriented number with some catchy hooks. The group's sound is good and loud, and Laine was a phenomenal singer, though the band lacked the charisma and built-in excitement of such rivals as the Rolling Stones and the Animals. This album is more interesting than its American equivalent, but also not as good, since it leaves off such single sides as "Steal Your Heart Away" and the Pinder/Laine "From the Bottom of My Heart," the latter being the best side this version of the group ever recorded.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'll Go Crazyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ill-go-crazy/id947602053?i=947602056&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Something You Gothttp://itunes.apple.com/album/something-you-got/id947602053?i=947602057&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Go Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/go-now/id947602053?i=947602058&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Cam't Nobody Love Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/camt-nobody-love-you/id947602053?i=947602060&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. I Don't Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dont-mind/id947602053?i=947602061&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. I've Got a Dreamhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-got-a-dream/id947602053?i=947602072&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Let Me Gohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/let-me-go/id947602053?i=947602073&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Stophttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stop/id947602053?i=947602074&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Thank You Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thank-you-baby/id947602053?i=947602075&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. It Ain't Necessarily Sohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-aint-necessarily-so/id947602053?i=947602076&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. True Storyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/true-story/id947602053?i=947602080&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Bye Bye Birdhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bye-bye-bird/id947602053?i=947602094&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Lose Your Money (But Don't Lose Your Mind)http://itunes.apple.com/album/lose-your-money-but-dont-lose/id947602053?i=947602095&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Steal Your Heart Awayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/steal-your-heart-away/id947602053?i=947602096&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Go Now!http://itunes.apple.com/album/go-now!/id947602053?i=947602099&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. It's Easy Childhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-easy-child/id947602053?i=947602100&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. I Don't Want to Go on Without Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dont-want-to-go-on-without-you/id947602053?i=947602101&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Time Is on My Sidehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-is-on-my-side/id947602053?i=947602102&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. From the Bottom of My Heart (I Love You)http://itunes.apple.com/album/from-bottom-my-heart-i-love/id947602053?i=947602103&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. And My Baby's Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/and-my-babys-gone/id947602053?i=947602104&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Everydayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everyday/id947602053?i=947602105&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. You Don't (All the Time)http://itunes.apple.com/album/you-dont-all-the-time/id947602053?i=947602106&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. Boulevard De Madeleinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/boulevard-de-madeleine/id947602053?i=947602112&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. This Is My House (But Nobody Calls)http://itunes.apple.com/album/this-is-my-house-but-nobody/id947602053?i=947602113&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. People Gotta Gohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/people-gotta-go/id947602053?i=947602114&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. Life's Not Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lifes-not-life/id947602053?i=947602115&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  27. He Can Winhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/he-can-win/id947602053?i=947602116&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album