RELEASE
July 02, 2002
LABEL
Rhino
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Heartland Rock

Album Review

A decent primer of the Georgia Satellites' rootsy rock, The Essentials collects a dozen of their best performances, including hits like "Keep Your Hands to Yourself," "Battleship Chains," and "Open All Night." One of the Satellites' greatest strengths was their ability to embrace and update rock from the '50s, '60s, and '70s into their own style, and this is reflected in Essentials' rather cover-heavy track listing. The group's versions of "Whole Lotta Shakin'," "Hippy Hippy Shake," "Every Picture Tells a Story," and "Games People Play" are quite strong and mix well with originals like "Railroad Steel," "Bring Down the Hammer," and "Another Chance," but allotting a quarter of the collection's songs to covers feels disproportionate. While Let It Rock remains the best Georgia Satellites retrospective, Essentials a fairly good, concise package of the group's best work.
Heather Phares, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Keep Your Hands to Yourselfhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/keep-your-hands-to-yourself/id340892790?i=340892831&uo=5
  2. Battleship Chainshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/battleship-chains/id340892790?i=340892832&uo=5
  3. Railroad Steelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/railroad-steel/id340892790?i=340892833&uo=5
  4. Open All Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/open-all-night/id340892790?i=340892834&uo=5
  5. Don't Pass Me Byhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-pass-me-by/id340892790?i=340892839&uo=5
  6. Hippy Hippy Shakehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hippy-hippy-shake/id340892790?i=340892860&uo=5
  7. Another Chancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/another-chance/id340892790?i=340892861&uo=5
  8. All Over But the Cryin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/all-over-but-cryin/id340892790?i=340892871&uo=5
  9. Bring Down the Hammerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bring-down-hammer/id340892790?i=340892893&uo=5
  10. Every Picture Tells a Storyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/every-picture-tells-story/id340892790?i=340892894&uo=5
  11. Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
  12. Games People Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/games-people-play/id340892790?i=340892904&uo=5