Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Album Rock, Acid Rock, Hard Rock, Psychedelic

Album Review

Seventeen songs from 1967 BBC broadcasts, when the Jimi Hendrix Experience had yet to burn out from the wheel of constant touring, management hassles, and internal strife. They're in good, enthusiastic form as they run through early gems like "Hey Joe," "Foxy Lady," "Fire," and "Stone Free," the lack of studio polish giving these versions a loose feel. The Experience studio albums are still considerably superior to this set, but it's certainly worth acquiring by any serious Hendrix fan, not least because it has several covers that didn't make it on to the three proper Experience LPs. Several of these ("Hoochie Koochie Man," "Killing Floor," "Catfish Blues") reveal his sometimes overlooked affinity for Chicago-style electric blues; there are also a couple of surprises ("Hound Dog" and "Day Tripper"). With good sound, it's a solid addition to the Hendrix library, demonstrating his versatility in various rock, soul, and blues styles.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stone Free
  2. Radio One Theme
  3. Day Tripper
  4. Killing Floor
  5. Love or Confusion
  6. Drivin' South
  7. Catfish Blues
  8. Wait Until Tomorrow
  9. Hear My Train a Comin'
  10. Hound Dog
  11. Fire
  12. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  13. Purple Haze
  14. Spanish Castle Magic
  15. Hey Joe
  16. Foxey Lady
  17. Burning of the Midnight Lamp