September 13, 2005
EMI Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Arena Rock

Album Review

Although this double-length live set includes only two of three surviving Queen members (guitarist Brian May and drummer Roger Taylor, with Free/Bad Company singer Paul Rodgers providing lead vocals), Return of the Champions offers some sharply executed renditions of Queen hits, as well as a few gems from Rodgers' former bands. Rodgers, wisely, doesn't attempt to replicate the flamboyant charm of Freddie Mercury. Instead, he applies his gritty, hard rock-honed vocals to the group's heavier tunes, most notably the riff-happy "Tie Your Mother Down" and the automotive power ballad "I'm in Love with My Car." May is in top form here, particularly on his seven-minute solo, proving that he's still capable of the six-string pyrotechnics that made him a guitar hero.
Eric Schneider, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Reaching Out
  2. Tie Your Mother Down
  3. I Want to Break Free
  4. Fat Bottomed Girls
  5. Wishing Well
  6. Another One Bites the Dust
  7. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  8. Say It's Not True
  9. '39
  10. Love of My Life
  11. Hammer to Fall
  12. Feel Like Makin' Love
  13. Let There Be Drums
  14. I'm in Love with My Car
  15. Guitar Solo
  16. Last Horizon
  17. These Are the Days of Our Lives
  18. Radio Ga Ga
  19. Can't Get Enough
  20. A Kind of Magic
  21. I Want It All
  22. Bohemian Rhapsody
  23. The Show Must Go On
  24. All Right Now
  25. We Will Rock You
  26. We Are the Champions
  27. God Save the Queen