August 30, 2005
Pop/Rock, Southern Rock, American Trad Rock, Blues-Rock, Album Rock, Country-Rock, Slide Guitar Blues

Album Review

This is a fine straight repackaging of Dickey Betts' original incarnation of Great Southern. It's hard to imagine any fan not already owning these on CD, but then anything is possible. These two recordings were done years after the sublime Highway Call, and feature Betts wedding the laid-back country-rock of the former album to the raucous brand of soulful blues played by the Allman Brothers Band. Marred somewhat by slick and overwrought production, these two albums -- on a single CD -- still showcase plenty of fine guitar playing and songwriting by Betts.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Out to Get Me
  2. Run Gypsy Run
  3. Sweet Virginia
  4. The Way Love Goes
  5. Nothing You Can Do
  6. California Blues
  7. Bougainvillea
  8. Good Time Feeling
  9. Atlanta's Burning Down
  10. Leavin' Me Again
  11. Back on the Road Again
  12. Dealin' with the Devil
  13. Shady Streets
  14. You Can Have Her (I Don't Want Her)
  15. Mr. Blues Man