Universal International
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Bar Band, Heartland Rock

Album Review

This set combines three Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers albums, 1979's breakthrough Damn the Torpedoes, 1981's Hard Promises, and 1985's Southern Accents, in a single package, and as such it charts an interesting creative arc for Petty. There are some classic songs here, like "Here Comes My Girl," "The Waiting," and "Don't Come Around Here No More," which spotlight Petty at his absolute best as a ragged, sneering rock & roller with a weary heart of gold. Most fans will already have each of these albums, but if not, this is an easy way to get all three. Universal has done this kind of thing before with Petty, combining Damn the Torpedoes and Southern Accents with 1991's Into the Great Wide Open for a similar package issued in 1999. That set also charts an intriguing arc, but Petty & the Heartbreakers are so consistent, it's really just the same story starting and ending a little differently. This is one steady, dependable little band.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Refugee
  2. Here Comes My Girl
  3. Even the Losers
  4. Shadow of a Doubt (A Complex Kid)
  5. Century City
  6. Don't Do Me Like That
  7. You Tell Me
  8. What Are You Doin' in My Life?
  9. Louisiana Rain
  10. Rebels
  11. It Ain't Nothin' to Me
  12. Don't Come Around Here No More
  13. Southern Accents
  14. Make It Better (Forget About Me)
  15. Spike
  16. Dogs on the Run
  17. Mary's New Car
  18. The Best of Everything
  19. The Waiting
  20. A Woman in Love (It's Not Me)
  21. Nightwatchman
  22. Something Big
  23. Kings Road
  24. Letting You Go
  25. A Thing About You
  26. Insider
  27. The Criminal Kind
  28. You Can Still Change Your Mind