March 14, 2006
Beat Goes On
Pop/Rock, Arena Rock, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Hard Rock

Album Review

This Beat Goes On compilation features two of Styx's earlier records -- 1975's Equinox and 1976's Crystal Ball -- together on one disc. There isn't much in the way of the pop anthem sound that Styx would later adapt and become famous for in the late '70s and early '80s; no "Come Sail Away" or "Too Much Time on My Hands" (not even a "Babe" anywhere in sight). But these two albums do feature the sound of a group going through some crucial growing pains; shedding their intensive prog rock skin and becoming much more accessible and radio-friendly. Equinox also features "Lorelei," one of the group's earliest hits to reach the pop charts. While these albums may not be for everyone, die-hard fans will appreciate having the two discs together, complete with wonderful remastering and exhaustively thorough liner notes.
Rob Theakston, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Light Up
  2. Lorelei
  3. Mother Dear
  4. Lonely Child
  5. Midnight Ride
  6. Born for Adventure
  7. Prelude
  8. Suite Madame Blue
  9. Put Me On
  10. Mademoiselle
  11. Jennifer
  12. Crystal Ball
  13. Shooz
  14. This Old Man
  15. Clair de Lune/Ballerina