June 06, 2006
Dead Line Music
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Hard Rock, Pop-Metal

Album Review

Great White has issued greatest-hits compilations almost every year since the dawn of the millennium. This includes 2000s The Best of Great White (EMI) and Sony's Latest and Greatest, 2001's Greatest Hits, and another EMI collection under the title Rock Champions
(2003), 2004's painfully inappropriately titled Burning House of Love and an inclusion in the Extended Versions series, 2005's Rock Breakout Years: 1988 and 2006's Back to Back Hits Collection (which also featured April Wine). Thus there are many options to choose from, leaving the casual listener awash in a sea of possibilities as to which disc is the most comprehensive/effective of the bunch. While Rock Me: The Best of Great White contains some of the group's most well-known moments, including the chart hit "Once Bitten Twice Shy," it is erratic in its track sequencing and features limp covers of Bob Dylan's masterpiece "Tangled Up in Blue" and AC/DC's classic "Sin City." This is definitely one that should be avoided and replaced with one of the aforementioned compilations (possibly the 2003 best-of edition).
Rob Theakston, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Rock Me
  2. Once Bitten, Twice Shy
  3. Save Your Love
  4. Love Removal Machine
  5. Again and Again
  6. Ready for Love
  7. Tangled Up in Blue
  8. Burning House of Love
  9. Ain't No Way to Treat a Lady
  10. Sin City
  11. No Matter What
  12. Lady Love
purchase full album