Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Blues-Rock, Acid Rock, Psychedelic, Psychedelic Soul, Soul, Album Rock

Album Review

Hendrix in the West is a collection of extremely good live Hendrix performances between 1968-1970. Three different concerts are sampled on this 1972 Polydor/Reprise release, one of the few official live Hendrix releases following his death. Standouts include "Red House" and "Voodoo Chile" from the San Diego Sports Arena, a great rendition of "Blue Suede Shoes" from the Berkeley Community Center, and the brief but entertaining coupling of "God Save the Queen" and "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" from the Isle of Wight. Noel Redding appears on bass on the three songs taken from the San Diego show and Billy Cox appears on bass for the rest of the tracks. Originally released on LP, Hendrix in the West has appeared on CD only as an import until the 2011 Sony/Legacy edition.
Jeff Schwachter, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Johnny B. Goode
  2. Lover Man
  3. Blue Suede Shoes
  4. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  5. The Queen
  6. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
  7. Little Wing
  8. Red House
purchase full album